top of page
Search

amsterdayyum- the quest for a cinnamon roll

Updated: Aug 11, 2023

"What would you doOooO for a cinnamon roll?" Stay tuned for the answer.


A few weeks ago I spontaneously decided to go on a day trip to Amsterdam in search of the elusive Cinnabon. I have a slight love affair with pastries and I have been unable to find any good cinnamon rolls in Brussels. And after a quick google search, I realized that there was a Cinnabon just in Amsterdam- which also happens to be a bus ride away. So I bought a flixbus ticket to Amsterdam and luckily my gal pals Noela and Jaylea were also planning on going to Amsterdam and off we went. My one mission: to eat a cinnamon roll.

the first stop on mission cinnamon roll was Ghent. Ghent is a small city about a 40-minute train ride away from Brussels. It is in the Flanders region of Belgium and is a city of canals. It is beautiful, I live for architecture and oh boy the buildings and churches are BEAUTIFUL. It feels like a quaint small town but also has a very unique thump to it. 10/10 would highly recommend- ESPECIALLY the Gravensteen Castle- best audio tour of my life.

The next and final stop on mission cinnamon roll was Amsterdam. Noela, Jaylea and I took a flix bus at 7 am and arrived in Amsterdam around noon. After devising a game plan- they wanted to do touristy things and to be quite honest I was only in it for the cinnamon rolls. They graciously decided that our first stop would fulfill my quest and bring me to the coveted Cinnabon. We took a train and bing bang boom we were there. AND LET ME JUST SAY. It was everything I wanted and more. WAUW. It was soft and sweet, warm, creamy and delicious and had JUST the right amount of everything. Maybe it was the deprivation from cinnamon rolls or maybe it was my intense hunger but it was perfection on a plate. Look at the joy on my face- you would think that I had died and gone to heaven. And you'd be right, I had completed my mission. I felt triumphant and irrationally happy and could now partake in the rest of Amsterdam.

and so we went on our way to find some cheap-ish touristy things to do. We went on a boat tour, and walked around the city. Amsterdam is beautiful and the sun was out. I don't really have anything special to say so here are some pictures of me and my beautiful friends serving face in Amsterdam. And to answer the burning question; what I would do for a cinnamon roll? I would cross borders and shirk all my responsibilities- and I did.

xx



33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page